I Think My Legs Are Going To Fall Off

Well, good news. I got a job! Well, it’s still dependent on me deciding for sure that I like it, but I think I do, so I have a job! It’s with Southern Retail Inventory Service. See, my mom has mentioned more than once that she worked for an inventory company when she was my age, and that it seemed like the sort of job I would enjoy. So I applied for this one a few weeks ago. They totally failed to get in touch with me (they emailed me asking to call, then never answered/returned any calls), so I thought nothing more of it. Then all of a sudden they contacted me and wanted me to meet with them on this past Tuesday (4 days ago). So I drove out to a Mapco in West End (about half an hour away), and talked to this lady for about 10 minutes. At which point she basically said to come in on Thursday (yesterday) for paperwork and training, and I could start Friday (today).

It was very confusing. As I said on FB, If you’re ever in a position where you’re responsible for hiring people, when you get to the part where you’ve decided to hire someone, ACTUALLY OFFER THEM A JOB. Almost every person I interview with just gets to that point, and is all, “so, when can you come fill out your paperwork?” Um, does that mean I’m hired? Have we discussed pay? What if I’m not sure yet that I want this job? I’m not desperate, so I won’t necessarily accept any job that’s offered to me. Oy. I was immensely frustrated with that.

In their defense, everyone there has said that it’s a job that people either love or hate, and you have to work at least one day to be able to tell which it is. So any job accepting that I did would have been dependent on how I felt after my first day (as I sort of mentioned above). Still, they really need to work on that part. I wound up deciding to just go in for the paperwork, and get my questions (like pay rate) answered there. If I was satisfied with everything, I’d stay for the training. If not, I’d leave and that would be that. As it turned out, I was pleased with everything, so I did go ahead with training yesterday. Aside from the fact that I was an idiot and left my wallet and passport at home, and you must have two forms of identification for the paperwork (don’t clean out your purse right before leaving for something like that), it went well. The trainer was even really cool about having to wait an hour for me to drive back home and then back out to their office to get the missing id’s.

Today was my first day in an actual store, though it was still training. Nothing I counted was included in their actual inventory (which is good, cause there’s a pretty big learning curve on this and I sucked quite a bit), but I got to get a good feel for how it works, and practice my 10-keying. I think it went well, but I got very little feedback from the manager who was training me, so I can’t be really sure. I think when she emails me with when she wants me to work next week, I’ll include some questions about how I did in my reply.

As for how I feel about the job, I think I enjoyed it. Like I said, I sorta sucked. I’m pretty sure I was well within the range of normal noob speed and accuracy, but I really hate feeling like I didn’t do well at something. Part of why I wish she’d given me some feedback. Then again, if I really was unusually bad, I guess I don’t want to know that. The main problem is that you really can’t be as obsessively precise as I am. You have to estimate some of the time, or you’ll be incredibly slow. For example, if you’ve got a box of ring pops you need to count, there’s no efficient way to actually count them. But if you know there are 24 in a full box, you can look at it and decide that it looks like there are maybe 3 missing, and put that there are 21 in the inventory. That’s really hard for me, both because I don’t like being that imprecise, and because I just don’t have a feel yet for what a full box looks like and how to guess fairly accurately at how many there are. The other guy I was working with (who actually did 99% of the training today, not the manager lady) gave me some good tips on that though, so I think it’s something I could learn.

He, by the way, is crazy fast at the counting. I couldn’t believe it. He’s been there something like 20 years, so it’s not surprising, but still. It was intimidating. And I honestly don’t think I’ll ever be that fast. I’m smart, but I’m slow. My brain just genuinely doesn’t process information very quickly. Which is why I tend to laugh at jokes a little too late, because it takes me a minute to catch up and get it. And I think that’s a drawback because I’ve got to be able to figure out the price and input it, then count the pieces and input that, and then move to the next one. The constant switching between price and quantity is hard. I will get better, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be super fast. Like I said, watching the other guy going SO fast was intimidating!

The other main issue I have is that I’m not sure I’m physically up for it. People tend to look at me and think that because I’m not particularly overweight, I must be in at least semi-decent shape. Not so. I’ve never met anyone who wasn’t morbidly obese who was as out of shape as I am. And picture for a moment, the layout of a standard store set of shelves. Most are below eye level. Sitting or even bending over is frowned upon, so you have to either be on your knees or squatting. Constant up and down, for hours. Hence the title (holy crap, I seriously just spelled that “tital,” wth me?) of this blog post. My legs are so shaky/weak, and I don’t even want to think about what they’ll feel like tomorrow. On the one hand, that’s a big plus, because I really need more exercise. And squatting is supposed to be extra good before/during pregnancy, to help strengthen your pelvic floor. So this is a great opportunity to take better care of myself. On the other hand, I feel like my legs are going to fall off and my knees are probably bruised (I’ll be getting some knee pads) and I am just worn the frak out from doing so much more physical activity than I’m used to. That initial period of getting used to not sitting around all day is going to be really hard. But possibly worth it?

So basically I’m going to give it another few days. The plan is for me to work 3 days a week, Monday through Wednesday, and then just occasional other days as needed. (They’re also apparently pretty short handed, because it has been made VERY clear to me that if I want extra hours I just need to ask.) I figure I’ll do my 3 days next week, and then see where I stand. That should be long enough for me to get a feel for whether I’ll like it, and for them to decide whether I’m gonna be up to par. Fingers crossed that at the very least they want me to stay, whether I do or not. Also, the GameStop manager was out of town this week, so I wasn’t able to check in with them and see if that’s even a possibility. I’ll probably call next week and see. Overall I think this inventory position is a much better fit, but it’d be nice to know that I have other options if it doesn’t work out.

And, you know, yay! I have a job!

 

f52ade2df8a4c9d6983a4219f09fc700

Leave a Reply

