Some Further Thoughts

Having had some time to process and think about my test results, I have a few more points to consider.

Firstly, I wonder if my doctor in Denver should have been more proactive in seeking answers after the first miscarriage. Normally insurance wants you to wait until you’ve had at least three, so she was definitely following standard protocol. But she knew my family history of placental abruptions (maternal grandmother, mother, and cousin), and even said she found it unusual and something keep an eye on with me. As I said before, abruptions are not hereditary, but blood clotting disorders are, and they can cause abruptions. I wonder if she would have been more concerned if I’d remembered at the time that my grandmother has a history of blood clots. My miscarriage was more typical of blood clots, in that development was totally on track right up until the baby was gone. Miscarriages caused by chromosomal issues (which are far more common) tend to show delayed development, and frequently no heartbeat ever shows up. I just feel like all of those together should have thrown up some red flags. I do NOT blame her, or resent that she didn’t do more testing immediately. But I do want to put my story out there, so if someone is in a similar situation they can insist on more aggressive action before they lose multiple babies.

Secondly, I wonder if this will impact my ability to give blood. I didn’t think to ask, but I could see where it might. I never have, but I’ve always wanted to, so I’d be a bit sad if I can’t. Still, there are other ways I can volunteer and help others, so it’s not huge.

Thirdly, I wish she’d been more interested in discussing how this will impact future pregnancies. My cousin asked if I’d wind up having to have a scheduled c-section. I don’t think that would be likely, but I don’t know. I’m a planner, and I’d like to know what of my original plans are still options. I won’t be able to go with a midwife, due to the high risk status (even if they’d be willing, I wouldn’t). What else may be affected?

And lastly, the biggest one (to me). One thing I told myself with both miscarriages, especially the more recent one, is that if it was going to happen, at least it happened early. 9.5 weeks didn’t feel that early, but compared to 15 or 20 or later, it wasn’t that bad. Generally 12 weeks is the magic number, and after that your odds of miscarriage decrease dramatically. But from what I understand, that’s because most are caused by chromosomal issues, so they’re unable to develop that far. If I understand correctly, and I think I do, miscarriages caused by blood clots can happen at any time, right up until birth (as in the case of my family members who had abruptions). So I am now a thousand times more grateful that mine did happen so early. I didn’t know I was at risk, so I could have gotten to 12 weeks, thought I was safe, and been far more devastated by a late-term miscarriage or stillbirth. My experiences were no fun, but they could have been so much worse, and I’m so, SO grateful that they weren’t.

a12a89c6977728cb117a268d2d0d6881

Anyone have any further thoughts or questions about the implications of my diagnosis? Like I said before, I’m happy with my results, but it definitely provides some food for thought.