Cutting Back

Just a head’s up, this is not in any way baby/pregnancy related. This is more the “road to crunchy” part, not the “road to mama.”

Basically, I like stuff. I like geeky stuff and I like pretty stuff and I like crazy brightly colored stuff. I like so very many different kinds of stuff. But the reality is, I have WAY too much stuff. I don’t like clutter (or more accurately, I don’t like dusting when things are cluttered, and I don’t like things being dusty), so most of my stuff winds up in storage. I rotate it out some, but mostly it just sits there. I had started cutting back on the stuff, and better yet, cutting back on the purchasing of MORE stuff. But much like eating healthier, I let myself get out of the habit. I’ve been seeing all these things I want, and oooh, I want them a lot! Especially a Wii U. I really want a Wii U.

AND we’ve been looking at houses, and we found one that’s a-frakin-mazing. Like, holy wow, I want this house. It’s huge, and it’s gorgeous, and it has all these lovely details like fancy lighting and patio with cable run out to it. It’s the sort of house that growing up, I thought rich people lived in. (I grew up not poor, but my mom was working more than one job, so my standards of “rich” were a little off.) And while it’s higher than we’re planning to pay, it’s well within the range of what we *could* afford, if we wanted to. Christopher really loved it too, but he’s more budget-conscious. And I was all geared up to make my case for why we really DO need this house. I might have even convinced him (probably not, but maybe).

And then I read this post on NatureMoms (love that blog, but she’s kinda sold out too much and is doing too many promo posts for products) about “8 Reasons Why Less Stuff Equals More Happiness.” And then right at that same time I read the part of my Dharma of Star Wars book about how our desire to always have more, and to always feel like our happiness is dependent on some stuff we don’t have, is a big cause of suffering. (Suffering, in this case, being a sort of catch-all term for any unhappiness, not the big dramatic idea that suffering tends to connote, at least in my mind.)

And you know what? If we got that big, pretty house, I would have to clean it! And we’d “need” furniture to fill it up, since we definitely don’t have enough, and what we have really doesn’t go with the feel of the place, so we’d “need” to replace what we have. We’d be paying so much on our house payments that we’d have no extra money for going to do fun things together, and we’d be paying off our student loan and car debt that much more slowly. Not to mention that we’re hoping to have kids, obviously, and they’re going to be expensive, even with doing things like cloth diapering!

And the Wii U (and all the other awesome geeky things on my Pinterest wish list)? Why on earth do I need another gaming system? I just got the Retron 3, and I literally have bought games for it that I haven’t even played yet. I will say that the usable items on my wish list are at least reasonable (like t-shirts that will actually get worn), but the things that will just be more stuff collecting dust are really not needed. And the t-shirts, etc are better saved for birthdays and Christmas. Since gifts are my love language anyway (there’s a fun blog topic I could go into), waiting and getting them as gifts makes me far happier than spending my own money on them.

So all that to say, I am extremely grateful for the timely reminder that I do not need all these things and stuff, even when I feel like I need them “sooooo bad.” Hopefully this time I can remember it when I get out there and see it all, especially since Christmas stuff is my biggest weakness, and it’s already hitting stores! 🙂

