Finally, a baby related post!

Since this is a pregnancy/baby blog, I suppose the place to start is… getting pregnant! Don’t worry, I know most of my readers will be family, and there are some things that are just truly tmi. But an eensy bit won’t hurt, right?

I’ve wanted a baby for as long as I can remember. My mom says as a toddler in daycare, when kids’ parents showed up, I’d be the one getting them in their jackets and chivvying them to the door. I started working in the nursery at church with my mom long before I was officially old enough to do so, and had my first babysitting job at 12. I also had my first dream that I was pregnant around that age, and that’s continued at least once every few months ever since. (Side note- In all those dreams I never once felt the baby move. I’ve always assumed that was because I didn’t have any frame of reference for what it felt like. So maybe soon that will change?) I started working as a nanny shortly after we got married (couldn’t previously because those jobs don’t have insurance). So all that to say, I’ve been getting a bit impatient about the baby thing for a while.

Christopher and I have had the sense to take things fairly slow. We got married after almost 5 years of dating, and didn’t rush to have a baby afterwards. Okay, that latter part was mostly him, but I also knew his reasons were sound, and agreed even when I didn’t want to. It’s hard to fight those “gimme a baby now” hormones!

But at some point last year, the discussions got more serious. I started eating healthier (I haven’t had a coke in just over a year!), and we started thinking about budget changes and the like. At some point we finally settled on trying in May of this year (2013). We were hoping for a Spring-ish birthday, and it’d be our 4 year anniversary, so it seemed good.

I was WAY more impatient now that I knew a baby could be a reality soon, instead of just a vague hope. Eventually we decided to push the start date for trying to April, with his annual company trip, this year to Phoenix. I would have pushed for even earlier, but neither of us wanted a Christmas baby if we could help it. (Which could still happen if s/he comes early. Stay in there Stormy, it’s for your own good!)

So on to the interesting bit, finding out we were pregnant. For some reason I was convinced it was going to take us months to get a positive. Maybe just because I was so afraid of fertility issues, and it was easier if I told myself I expected a negative for a few months. As my aunt pointed out, I should have remembered my mother and most of my family got pregnant pretty much by thinking about it. I was a (happy!) accident myself!

So on day 30 of April’s cycle, I was still expecting AF to show any second. 28-30 days is normal for me, and I was definitely feeling every PMS symptom I always get. (In retrospect I should have remembered that PMS essentially is early pregnancy, before your body finds out it’s not pregnant!) But I woke up with my back hurting, and wanted to take some advil. I almost just grabbed some, but it occurred to me that I could be pregnant, and besides, it kinda sounded fun to take my first test since we started trying. I had NO doubts it would be negative.

Image

Aaaaand… it wasn’t. BFP. (Big Fat Positive, for those of you not hip to the baby board lingo.) I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever felt my heart rate that high. It was the biggest shock I’ve ever felt. Happy shock, but shock.

I had all these cute plans for ways to tell Christopher. Maybe a little “I love Daddy” onesie. Or a piggy bank with a note saying “College fund, only 18 years and 9 months to save!” There are so many ideas out there. As it turned out, I was in such disbelief that I walked upstairs to where he was on the computer and mutely handed him the test. He said something like “that’s not positive” when he saw what I was handing him, and was about as speechless as I was when he read it. Once I found my voice, I kept saying things like “really?!” and “wait, did I really read that right?” I stared at the test, and later the picture of the test when I wasn’t home, a lot of times.

Alright, that’s long enough for one post! For those of you who prefer short and sweet, I’m afraid I’m much too verbose for that! I also really like my parentheticals, so get used to that. Next, starting to tell the lucky few, and how many tests did I wind up taking?

One thought on “Finally, a baby related post!

  1. I love you so much sometimes thinking about how much makes it hard to breathe. You are the best thing that ever happened to me, the best daughter a mother could ever have.

Leave a Reply

